Contagious To The Core (Volume Two) (2017)

Van Martin van Zeelandt

It’s been nearly a year since I last reviewed the first volume of the succesful CD compilation ‘Contagious To The Core’, and you have guessed it correctly: volume 2 has just arrived! What can you expect now? Well, the same as last year (and like all the other albums): pure madness. Obviously the game has changed, and Riko has decided to bring a more diverse album to us. A few new names on this album, but of course he had to have at least one track on it. And M-Project. Where would we be without him, eh?

Last year I reviewed the album and was really pleased about it. I promised Riko I would review this and write a review on Sunday or Monday, but I had to listen to the previous album and this one, and compare them. The review last year was spot on, and to compare this year’s album to last year’s is just wrong. They are two separate album, only linked by name, but the music is so different.

And the cover was all green-ish. This is darker, blue/red/purple-ish. And I like that a lot. But you can’t just judge the cover and not the music. The music is diverse. Look at the names on the tracklist. You will know immediately what I mean.

tracklist TCD

01. Joey Riot vs Rob Poison – We Fly
02. Riko vs Lutronic – 21 Bitches
03. DJ Kurt vs Upnidown – Kick Da Flow
04. Jake Swan & 4Man – The Journey
05. Joey Riot vs Rob Poison – Hybrid
06. Yorkshire Ripper – This Is The Track
07. D-Core – Aftermath
08. Skinny – Tekno Power
09. DJ Kurt vs DJ Swifty – Back 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
10. Clowny & Bezza – Shove It
11. Mob & Squad-E – Say You Will Be Mine (M-Project Remix) 
12. Dark Monks – Insane (Rob IYF Remix) 
13. T4tsuya – Trust Me
14. Savage States – Dance With Me
15. Organ Donors – Ket Is For Horses (Joey Riot vs Hyper Activ Mix) 

What I meant with diversity is the fact that you hear in specific records a disctintive sound, resembling a sound from a specific label, such as Notorious Vinyl, Hardcore Underground, Lethal Theory, Evolution Records, and more.

I am really pleased after hearing this album. It’s really a good one. It’s got some slammers on it, like ‘Ket Is For Horses’ (just listen to the piano bit), ‘Tekno Power’, ‘Insane’, ‘We Fly’ and more. Quality tunes, really digging what Riko is doing with his label and with his albums: where else would you get this music, eh?

To be fair, there are two records on here which are just good, but missing the climatic moment. The track on itself is good, but sometimes you need to build towards something really euphoric. If these two would have a climatic moment, they would be epic.

The best record of this album? Well. it has to be D-Core’s ‘Aftermath’. I do hear an influence we all know and love: Scott Brown. I listened to this record for the first time (without seeing the tracklist) and I thought it was made by the legend himself. Oh, and I also dig ‘Hybrid’ alot. Takes me back to the golden days of Powerstomp, when it was just Lethal Theory pushing it forward.

A very good album. Lovely colours, lovely records. And now for you only for just a few quid. You could get this one for only 15 pounds (if you live in the UK) or 20 anywhere else, or get the 1st and 2nd album for 25! How’s that for a deal?

Will it take another year before volume three will be released? I hope not. He should release an album each month. We need more albums like this one. Don’t seem to get many albums lately. Shame.


Artist: Various Artists
Genre/Style: UK Hardcore, Powerstomp, Happy Hardcore
Album Info: Contagious Records Presents Contagious To The Core – Volume Two
Release Year: 2017
CDs: 1 (one)
Length Album: 01:08:07
Tracks: 15 (fifteen)
Label: Contagious Records
Product Number: unknown
Purchase Album: BUY ALBUM HERE
Listen (via Soundcloud): LISTEN HERE
More Information: Contagious Records – Facebook Fanpage

Vergelijkbare artikelen

Laat een reactie achter