Warehouse Anthems (2014)


If you are an Oldskool lover like myself, and you do love to wander around in a CD store, I urge you to go out now to wherever an HMV is, or any other CD store, and look for this album. My recent trip to the U.K. was very succesful, and I was very happy to inform you all that I think I’ve found the ultimate Oldskool compilation. The compilation in question is called ‘Warehouse Anthems’, released by Sony Music TV Comp, and it’s 3 CDs, jam-packed with oldskool tracks by legendary artists such as The Prodigy, Liquid, LFO, Altern-8 (Mark Archer has written a foreword for this compilation), SL2, Awesome 3 and many more.

If you were part of that specific generation who danced until the break of dawn in a warehouse, you have lived. You have lived a wonderful life. Yet those good days have gone passed, warehouses are closed, and most parties are organised in big clubs and/or big festivals, and the warehouse concept has dissappeared completely. There have been several underground parties organised, but most of them were shut down by the police, seeing as most of them were illegal. During the 90s, no one cared, as long as the vibe was good. And simply because of the fact that there were so many raves organised, more than the police could handle. And the vibe that these parties generated were good. The music played at these events were good too, nothing can beat those anthems. Anthems for a generation, made by a lost generation. The music has grown, but these anthems are still played daily, adored by many, loved by everyone. The power of this music has never been underestimated by the ravers, but by the big labels who didn’t understand the force these tunes had. Thankfully we can reminisce, and look back at an era we all should be proud of. And we are.

As I said before, this compilation is packed with awesome tunes, featuring several UK top 10 selling artists, but not only the well-known top 10 artists are found on this album, but also tracks that captured the vibe that this new sound created. The British rave scene became one of the most profound scenes in the world, and is still one of the most talked about in the world. The British had something unique, and their impact can still be felt. These tunes are timeless classics, and will remain timeless for as long as we live. If you look at the tracklist, you might find a lot of known tracks, and yes, they have appeared on many compilations, but not all on one, most of these tunes were on different compilations. Finally a compilation that captures the moment, the vibe, and ofcourse the quality of the tunes made and released between 1989 and 1994.

Let’s see the tracklist, if you haven’t purchased this album already.


01. Liquid – Sweet Harmony (Original Mix) 
02. SL2 – On A Ragga Tip
03. The Prodigy – Everybody In The Place (Fairground Remix) 
04. Kicks Like A Mule – The Bouncer (Housequake Mix) 
05. Awesome 3 – Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix) 
06. Altern8 – Evapor8 (Inciner8 Mix) 
07. Rhythm Quest – Closer To All Your Dreams (Hibrid Mix) 
08. The Future Sound Of London – Papua New Guinea (Original “12 Mix) 
09. Bug Kann & The Plastic Jam – Made In 2 Minutes (Rave Mix) 
10. Fast Eddie – Acid Thunder (Fast Eddie Mix) 
11. Nightmares On Wax – Dextrous
12. Hyper Go Go – High (Original Mix) 
13. Humanoid – Stakker Humanoid (Original “12 Mix) 
14. 4 Hero – Mr Kirks Nightmare
15. Silver Bullet – Bring Forth The Guillotine


01. The Ragga Twins – Spliffhead
02. Lennie De Ice – We Are I.E. (Original Extended Edit) 
03. 2 Bad Mice – Bombscare (2 Bad Mice Remix) 
04. LFO – LFO (Leeds Warehouse Mix) 
05. Cedric Winkleburger And The Yellow Blueberries – Take It Easy (Remix) 
06. Jonny L – Hurt You So (S&M Mix) 
07. Manix – Feel Real Good
08. Urban Hype – I Feel The Heat
09. Praga Khan – Injected With A Poison (Adams Power Mix) 
10. Acen – Tip II The Moon (Part 1) 
11. Danny Breaks – Volume 1
12. Blame – Music Takes You (2 Bad Mice Remix) 
13. Force Mass Motion – Panic
14. Omni Trio – Renegade Snares (Foul Play Remix) 


01. Shades Of Rhythm – The Sound Of Eden
02. Baby D – Let Me Be Your Fantasy
03. Terrorize – It’s Just A Feeling
04. Rhythm On The Loose – Break Of Dawn (Original Mix) 
05. Opus III – It’s A Fine Day
06. Petra & Co – Just Let Go (Dub)
07. Pink Noise – Gimme Some More Energy (Energy Revised Club Mix) 
08. D’Lusion – Take You There
09. E-Trax – Let’s Rock
10. G.T.O. – Pure (Energy)
11. Quadrophonia – Quadrophonia
12. 2 Bad Mice – Hold It Down
13. Xenophobia – Rushin The House
14. Zero B – Lock Up
15. N.R.G. – He Never Lost His Hardcore

This compilation has got so many great anthems on it, can’t believe they are so old! Some of them are nearly as old as I am! Wish I was born back in the 70s, so I could have experienced the early years of Rave.

Proper anthems, proper quality. And let’s not forget the quantity! So many great anthems, it’s unbelievable that these tunes are so old but yet so powerful. Play them in any set nowadays, and the crowd goes absolutely bonkers! I must admit that I wished they added more Altern8, seeing as Mark Archer added a foreword, only one track of Altern8’s on this compilation. On the other hand, you get a lot of 2 Bad Mice, which is also a good thing. It’s a harsh decision to make, there are so many great anthems, and so little space to put them on.

3 discs with the finest anthems. If you are missing a few, don’t complain, just listen to this compilation, and reminisce. Think about the good ol’ days, and relax. If you miss a few, just think: if all the great anthems were put in a compilation… they would need at least 293 discs. The years 1989-1994 were the best for the UK and the world, and we still love them to this day.

A good compilation. Nothing wrong with them. Wish they released more UK music over here in the Netherlands. We need it.

A proper lesson in how good the music was back in the 90s!


Artists: Various Artists
Genre/Style: Breakbeat, Rave, Oldskool Rave, Hardcore, Acid House
Release Year: 2014
Info: Warehouse Anthems: Old Skool. Breakbeat. Hardcore. Rave.
CDs: 3 (three)
Tracks: 44 (fourty-four)
Length CDs: +/- 3 1/2 hours
Label: Sony Music TV Comp
Product Number: BOOHWO07FK
More Information: Buy on Amazon / Buy on iTunes

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Verplichte velden zijn gemarkeerd met *