Evolution Of Hardcore (Part II) (2017)

No Comments
Evolution Of Hardcore (Part II)

A month ago I discovered a new DJ on Soundcloud, and his name was (and still is) Selectabwoy. I found out that he had a passion for good music, and the mix I reviewed previously literally blew me away. That was a month ago, and I found out the other day that he made a new mix, dedicated to the early ‘Hardcore’ sound. Don’t think for a second that it’s all about the Dutch Gabber music, but it’s all about the sound that emerged out of the UK, which contained a lot of Jungle and DnB bits in it. What the people in the UK called Hardcore sounded so different compared to the Dutch Hardcore. But which Hardcore do I prefer? Well, both of them.

His latest mix contains great dark anthems, some I haven’t heard in a while, and some I have never heard before. I was living in the wrong country when this kind of music started to take over the country, so I missed out on a lot. But thanks to mixes such as this one it’s easier for me to listen to whatever the scene had to offer, even though it’s many years after it emerged. Imagine a world without the internet or Soundcloud, I would not be able to expand my musical knowledge the way I am right now.

Selectabwoy’s mix is dark and edgy. And I f*cking love it. Christmas time has finally kicked in hard, but I’m still not embracing the music that comes along. I’d rather listen to this, anyday, anytime.

tracklist TCD

01. Bookworm – Listen
— Deep Blue – The Helicopter Tune (Rufige Kru Remix) 
02. Deep Blue – The Helicopter Tune (2 Bad Mice Remix) 
03. DJ Trax – Blackmore
04. FBD Project – The Core
05. FBD Project – She’s Breaking Up (B-Boy Remix) 
06. Tek 9 – The Attack (The Original 4 Hero Remix) 
07. Codename John – (Inta) The Anthem – The Warriors
08. Rufige Kru – Fury
09. Mad Dog – Monged Out
10. The Noise Of Art – D. Stomp
11. D’Cruze – Want You Now (DJ SS & EQ Remix) 
12. Roni Size – The Refresher
13. DJ Hype – Come Again
14. D.O.P.E. – Dope On Plastic Part II
15. Nebula II – Eye Memory
16. Codename John – Deep Inside Of Me
17. Skanna – Heaven
18. DJ Trace & Ed Rush – Don Bad Man
19. DJ Fokus – Vexxed
20. Aeon Flux – Reality
21. Phantasy and Gemini – Stop The Beat
22. Bounty Killaz – Voices
23. The Deceivers – The Pain
24. Rufige Kru – Manslaughter
25. Skanna – Night Stalker EP – A1
26. Mr E, Dillinja & Clarky – Steelers Anthem
27. DJ Crystl – Crystlize

Don’t know where he got these tracks from, but they are absolutely solid as a rock! Bloody hell, it’s like no other sound we hear nowadays. We can do a lot with the power of electronic equipment and software today, but when they made these tunes in the early 90s, they were groundbreaking, pioneers. And the power of each indiviual track still remains high.

The mix has got a nice flow. It doesn’t make you want to skip a record, or skip the mix completely. Once you have pressed play, you are hooked for an hour and 13 minutes. You simply can’t stop listening to this. And it’s all Selectabwoy’s fault. Blame him.

What a tight mix. I’ve really enjoyed myself. So many great anthems (again) in an hour long mix. Don’t know where he got these records from, but they are so good. And the best record in this mix has got to be ‘Steelers Anthem’. If you disagree, I will slap you. But send me your home address please, otherwise I won’t be able to slap you. Can’t go around the country finding you.

Back to reality. Selectabwoy’s mix is dope. Can’t mention anything bad. His latest mix is really as good as his previous mix, and it has made me feel good inside. And also a bit euphoric. And sad. Because this uniqueness can not be found anymore. They try, but can not copy what those brilliant artists did during the 90s. The sound has changed, and that’s what makes me sad.

Bring back the old sound. That’s what I want for Christmas!


DJ: Selectabwoy
Genre/Style: Drum & Bass, Jungle, Hardcore, Rave, Oldskool, Breakbeat
Mix Info: Evolution Of Hardcore Part II
Length Mix: 01:13:12
Tracks: 27 (twenty-seven)
Download/Listen (via Soundcloud): DOWNLOAD/LISTEN
File Size: 134 MB
File Type: mp3
Bitspeed: 256kbps
More Information: Selectabwoy – Soundcloud Page 

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Verplichte velden zijn gemarkeerd met *